People

H

Jeff Hakner

Assistant Director of Telecommunications & Adjunct Professor
212-353-4353 | hak@cooper.edu

Matt Hamilton

Manager of Alumni Communications and Recognition
(212) 353-4170 | mhamilto@cooper.edu

Adam Hapij

Adjunct Professor
212-353-4292 | adam.hapij@wai.com

Justin Harmon

Vice President for Communications
212-353-4266 | jharmon@cooper.edu

Jolie Harris Woodson

Assistant Director, Center for Career Development
212-353-4112 | jolie@cooper.edu

Cynthia Hartling

Administrative Associate, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
212.353.4273 | chartlin@cooper.edu

John Hartmann

Assistant Professor
(212) 353-4220

Lawrence S. Hausman

Adjunct Professor
hausma@cooper.edu

Paul Havern

Administrative Assistant
212-353-4120 | phavern@cooper.edu

Sharon Hayes

Assistant Professor
212.353.4200 | sharon@shaze.info

Stephanie Hightower

Co-Director, Outreach Program
212-353-4202 | highto@cooper.edu

Steven Hillyer

Director, The Irwin S. Chanin School of Architecture Archive
(212) 353-4232 | hillye2@cooper.edu

James Hoberman

Gelb Professor in the Humanities
212-353-4273 | hoberman@cooper.edu

Ian Hochstead

I.T. Support Specialist
212-353-4350 | ian@cooper.edu

Timothy R. Hoerning

Adjunct Professor
hoerni@cooper.edu

Robert P. Hopkins

Chief Technology Officer, Associate Professor of Computer Science
212.353.4351 | bob@cooper.edu

Anna Hostvedt

Senior Painting Office Coordinator
212.353.4257 / 4013 | hostved@cooper.edu

Haisi Hu

Film / Video Technician
212.353.4239

Titia Hulst

Adjunct Instructor
thulst@cooper.edu

Diana Hutchinson

Database Assistant
212-353-4176 | dhutch@cooper.edu

Tashauna Hylton

Business Office Associate
212-353-4146 | thylton@cooper.edu

Gwen Hyman

Director, Center for Writing, and Adjunct Assistant Professor
212-353-4399 | hyman@cooper.edu

William Hyman

Adjunt Professor of Biomedical Engineering
212-877-0720 | whyman@cooper.edu

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.