People

Chemistry

Peter Bastos

Adjunct Professor

John Bove

Professor Emeritus

Patrick Chiu

Technician
212-353-4383 | patrick817us@yahoo.com

Victoria Joyce

Technician
212-353-4390 | vjoyce@cooper.edu

Kevin S. Kolack

Adjunct Professor
kolack@cooper.edu

Marcus Lay

Associate Professor of Chemistry
(212) 353-4375 | mlay@cooper.edu

Liz Leon

Secretary, Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Departments
212-353-4370 | leon2@cooper.edu

Andrea Newmark

Professor and Chair of Chemistry
212.353.4376 | newmark@cooper.edu

Ruben Savizky

Associate Professor of Chemistry
212.353.4372 | rsavizky@cooper.edu

Omar A. Sharafeddin

Adjunct Professor
omarsharafeddin@yahoo.com

Robert Q Topper

Professor of Chemistry
212.353.4378 | topper@cooper.edu

Pornnipa Vichchulada

Adjunct Professor
pornnipa@cooper.edu

Samuel Wiener

Adjunct Professor
wiener@cooper.edu

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.