People

Student Affairs

Stephen P. Baker

Vice President of Student Affairs and Community Relations & Dean of Athletics
212.353.4131 | baker@cooper.edu

Toni Burrell

Administrative Assistant, Center for Career Development
(212) 353-4377 | burrell@cooper.edu

Christopher Chamberlin

Acting Associate Dean of Student Affairs
212-353-4130 | chamber@cooper.edu

Ryan Cummins

Administrative Assistant
(212) 353-4130 | cummins@cooper.edu

Jolie Harris Woodson

Assistant Director, Center for Career Development
212-353-4112 | jolie@cooper.edu

Janet Moy

Executive Assistant to the Vice President of Student Affairs and Community Relations
212-353-4115 | jmoy@cooper.edu

Lisa Ng

Administrative Associate
212-353-4116 | ng2@cooper.edu

David Robbins

Assistant Manager of Residence Life
212-353-4099 | drobbins@cooper.edu

Robert Thill

Director, Center for Career Development
212-353-4377 | career@cooper.edu

Marilyn Whitesides

Housing Facilitator
212-353-4099 | texas@cooper.edu

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.