People

L

David La Spina

Visiting Artist
212-353-4200 | david@davidlaspina.com

Mindy Lang

Director, Center for Design & Typography; Adjunct Professor
212.353.4212/4210 | lang@cooper.edu

Heidi Lau

Printmaking Technician
212.353.4235

Andrew LaVenia

Alumni Coordinator
(212) 353-4164 | alavenia@cooper.edu

Lisa Lawley

Adjunct Professor - Drawing
(212) 353-4200 | lisalawley@gmail.com

Marcus Lay

Associate Professor of Chemistry

James Leary

Adjunct Instructor
212-353-4200 | jamesenglishleary@gmail.com

Grace Lee

Senior Business Office Associate
212-353-4162 | glee@cooper.edu

Cristobal Lehyt

Adjunct Instructor - Sculpture
212-353-4200 | clehyt@hotmail.com

Lawrence Lennon

Adjunct Professor
212-353-4292 | lennon@pbworld.com

Christopher P. Lent

Director of Administrative Computing; Adjunct Professor; Freshman Engineering Advisor
212-353-4350 | lent@cooper.edu

Liz Leon

Secretary
212-353-4370 | leon2@cooper.edu

Sonia Leon

Senior Business Office Associate
212-353-4143 | leon@cooper.edu

Kevin Leonard

Co-Head Technician, Art & Architecture Shop
212.353.4234 | kevin.leonard78@gmail.com

Daniel H. Lepek

Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering
212.353.4379 | lepek@cooper.edu

Karen Lepri

Writing Associate
212-353-4218

Sarah Lerner

Administrative Assistant
212-353-4305 | lerner@cooper.edu

Diane H. Lewis

Professor
212-353-4220 | lewis3@cooper.edu

Eric Lima

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Director The Open-Source Hardware Laboratory
212.353.4029 | lima2@cooper.edu

John Lindell

Adjunct Instructor
212.353.4200 | architect@johnlindell.com

Pam Lins

Adjunct Professor
212.353.4200 | plins718@earthlink.net

Donna M. Lippman

Director of Planned Giving
212-353-4172 | dlippman@cooper.edu

Mitchell Lipton

Dean of Admission & Records & Registrar
212-353-4126 | lipton@cooper.edu

Natasha Marie Llorens

Adjunct Instructor
nllorens@cooper.edu

Niki Logis

Associate Professor (Proportional-Time)
212-353-4234

Marget Long

Academic Support Specialist: Computer Studio, Dept. of IT
212-353-4216

Pablo Lorenzo-Eiroa

Associate Professor
212-353-4220 | eiroa@cooper.edu

James Lowder

Assistant Professor
212-353-4220 | lowder@cooper.edu

Sarah Lowengard

Adjunct Associate Professor
212-353-4273 | loweng@cooper.edu

Dirk Luchtenburg

Postdoctoral Research Fellow
dluchten@cooper.edu

James Luciano

Associate Director of Admissions
212-353-4278 | jluciano@cooper.edu

John Lundberg

Writing Associate
212-353-4218

Jeanne Lunin

Director of Development
212-353-4107 | jlunin@cooper.edu

Haiyan Luo

Post Doctoral Research Fellow
212-353-4285 | hluo@cooper.edu

Dionne Lutz

Technician, The Kanbar Institute for Biomedical Engineering
(212) 353-4326 | dlutz@cooper.edu

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.