Adjunct Teaching Opportunities

The Albert Nerken School of Engineering at the Cooper Union is perennially ranked among the nation’s top undergraduate engineering schools.  It is comprised of four degree-granting departments: Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering and Chemical Engineering.  The School offers bachelor’s and master’s degrees in engineering, as well as the bachelor of science degree.  Approximately 500 undergraduate and 50 graduate students are enrolled in engineering at Cooper Union and, since September 2009, study in a new state-of-the-art academic building designed by Pritzker Prize-winning architect Thom Mayne.

The Cooper Union invites applicants for adjunct faculty positions for the Fall and Spring semesters in any of the degree-granting departments, as well as the departments of Mathematics, Chemistry, and Physics.  See the complete job posting here.

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.